Home»National»Top Stories»Lok Sabha Elections 2014: Congress Releases First List Of Candidates, Announces 93 Names

Lok Sabha elections 2014: Congress releases first list of candidates, announces 93 names

Dailybhaskar.com   |  Feb 17, 2014, 21:58PM IST
AAP|Rahul Gandhi

New Delhi: A day after Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) unveiled a list of 20 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, the Congress on Monday released its first list of candidates for the general elections, due by May.
Congress has cleared 93 names in the first list, which was made public following a meeting of the party's central election committee.
The list contains candidates for five states - Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Chhattisgarh and Karnataka.
Twenty one names from UP figure in the first list.
The first list contains those constituencies where the Congress had faced defeat in the last general elections.
On Sunday, the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP announced its first list of 20 candidates to take on political bigwigs like Rahul Gandhi, Nitin Gadkari, Kapil Sibal, Milind Deora, Salman Khursheed, Suresh Kalmadi, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Ajit Singh and Manish Tewari.
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has not so far announced its first list of candidates.
Ganesh Chaturthi Photo Contest
Your Opinion
To post this comment you must log in

Login/Connect with:
Fill in your details

Will be displayed


Will be displayed

4 + 2

Ganesh Chaturthi Photo Contest

Top News