Home»Sports»Off The Field» Wisden Honours Sachin Tendulkar As Leading Cricketer For 2010

Wisden honours Sachin Tendulkar as leading cricketer for 2010

  • PTI
  • Apr 14, 2011, 09:50 AM IST
Wisden honours Sachin Tendulkar as leading cricketer for 2010, off the field news in English

off the field news in English

London: Wisden, regarded as the Bible of cricket, has named Indian batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar as the leading cricketer in the world for the year 2010.

sachin200worldrecord_288The iconic batsman became the seventh recipient of the Wisden award after teammate Virender Sehwag, Australians Ricky Ponting and Shane Warne, England's Andrew Flintoff, Sri Lanka's Muttiah Muralitharan and South African Jacques Kallis.

The 148th edition of Wisden Cricketers' Almanack was launched today and it was the first time that Tendulkar has won the award since it started in 2004.

In 2007, Wisden had identified Tendulkar as the player to have won such an award for 1998 - had it been instituted then.

Tendulkar, who realised his long-cherished dream when India won the World Cup earlier this month in Mumbai, has also been named in Wisden's 2009 Test XI, at his accustomed number four position

Sehwag, who took the honour in the last two years, has also found a place in Wisden's 2009 Test XI, forming an attacking opening partnership with Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal.

The 37-year-old Tendulkar scored more than 1500 Test runs, including seven centuries in the year 2010 averaging 78.

In February, he became the first in world cricket to score a double-hundred in One-day Internationals, while in December he became the first man to score 50 Test tons, both landmarks achieved against the best pace attack in world cricket -- South Africa.

Tendulkar's citation read: "Wisden acknowledges his greatness by naming him as the Leading Cricketer in the World for 2010."

Wisden, this year, named just four cricketers -- Eoin Morgan, Chris Read, Jonathan Trott and Tamim Iqbal -- instead of the usual five. Tamim became the first Bangladeshi to secure an honour that dates back to 1889.

Five Indian players -- Sehwag, Tendulkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, VVS Laxman and Zaheer Khan -- made it to Wisden's 2009 Test list.

Related Articles:

IPL4: Sachin shares his Man-of-the-Match award with Rayudu
Sachin Tendulkar is ageless, says Adam Gilchrist
Bharat Ratna for Sachin: Maharashtra recommends his name to Centre


  • loader